Skip to content
September 1, 2009 / ebretzel

That’s One Way to Start a Coin Collection

I inadvertently started a new coin collection the other day.

You may recall that several years ago they started issuing state quarters. After my mother bought me a collectors booklet, I felt obliged to fill all 50 holes. I’m not going to lie, I had fun searching for them. I even had my friends and family on the lookout for those hard to get quarters. When I FINALLY got my hands on the 2008 Hawaii quarter my search was over. I closed my book triumphantly and placed it on the shelf, never to look at it again.

But wait. What about the District of Columbia? Don’t they deserve their own coin too? They are, after all, an important part of this nation, home to our white house, and apparently are associated with Duke Ellington. When they made the collector book they must have overlooked this tiny detail, because when I found that coin I had no place to put it. A piece of scotch tape solved that problem and it’s now stuck securely next to Hawaii as if it belonged there all along. I then re-closed my book and placed it triumphantly on the shelf, never to look at it again.

But wait.

Yesterday, when I opened a roll of quarters to pay my meter and I habitually flipped them all over to see if there were any state coins, I found this:

1970 Panama Quarter Front

1970 Panama Quarter Front

1970 Panama Quarter Back

1970 Panama Quarter Back

The U.S. mint is now issuing quarters from other countries!

-Emily

Leave a Reply

