Skip to content
June 27, 2010 / ebretzel

Home, sweet home

Last night I went to a hoppin’ housewarming party for my friends Briana and Brad. The food was amazing: spinach and Hawaiian bread, brats, burgers, deviled eggs and all types of salads. Throw in Leah’s delicious rainbow jello and yoghurt yummies, and THREE types of fruit pizza and it was like heaven on earth. After we all gorged ourselves we played a very loud game of catch phrase and drank some adult beverages while it stormed outside (the 1,000 piece puzzle got vetoed – not sure why, I think puzzles are excellent party games.) All in all it was a very fun evening, but the reason for my post is to share this with you all:

In my mind, this cute, felted wall-hanging is the perfect housewarming present, especially if the recipient happens to like kitschy-cute decor. I can’t take credit for the idea, I pretty much copied it exactly from this blog, Sew, Mama, Sew! – which, by the way, has tons of amazing and inspiring patterns and projects. When I saw it mentioned on crafterholic (yes, I am a crafterholic (as if you didn’t know)) I just knew that I had to make it. It was a great project for the long car ride to my in-laws, from St. Paul-ish to Milwaukee-ish. I’m not a very experienced embroiderer, but a huge embroidery fan so this is a great way to get an embroidered look with just some really basic sewing skills. Felt is so fun and easy to work with, although cutting perfect circles can be a bit tricky. I didn’t worry too much when things got crooked, it adds to the charm. I am definitely inspired to use this technique for lots of future wall-hangings!!

-Emily

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Becca / Jun 29 2010 6:53 pm

    THREE types of fruit pizza? I might actually die of envy.

    AND excellent craft idea you craft goddess! Maybe I need to start following crafterholic instead of just etsy. : D

  2. Becca / Jun 29 2010 6:54 pm

    Oh, and of course I’m gutted I couldn’t make the party. : ( I wanted to Skype but my webcam was not cooperating. : (

  3. briana / Jul 4 2010 10:35 am

    you definitely suited the colors to my (and maybe your) taste well. little pink house is adorable, but mine is even better!

Leave a Reply

