Skip to content
August 18, 2010 / ebretzel

Lemme go on, I got blistered by a bug

Can I start an official protest? For some reason, my body has been vehemently opposing bug bites this summer, to the point where I was ready to amputate my leg yesterday just to get some relief.

I first discovered my abnormal reaction the day after our block National Night Out party when I got an onslaught of mosquito bites around my legs and back. Apparently this mosquito bite overload put my body into a panic and the result was a horrifying pox of raised bumps and skin discoloration that I can’t even describe. Several weeks later I still look diseased. Guess that’s what I get for trying to meet the neighbors.

On Monday night I felt recovered enough to brave the outdoors once again and enjoy a beautiful, cool evening by the fire. “There are no mosquitos out here,” Ryan assured me. I cautiously ventured out, but only after I made sure my skin was adequately covered. And, indeed, seeing no evidence of bugs I hunkered down by the fire to enjoy a bit of our waning summer.

I shouldn’t have let my guard down.

One hour later my spidey senses alerted me to a bug bite in the ankular region. Armed with hydrocordisone I lathered that baby up, popped an ibuprofen and retired to bed with an ice pack.

The next morning I was rewarded for my efforts with a huge swollen ankle and a crazy itch that took ALL my willpower not to scratch the living daylights out of. I pretty much complained about it all day, as my co-workers can tell you. But the worst was yet to come!!

Late in the evening, 2 perfect, little blobulars popped up on my ankle. Draw a little mouth underneath and you have a sick smiley face. It’s official, I’m a freak! I declared. Here is a photo if you would like to gawk, laugh and/or cry at my pain. Be forewarned, it’s disgusting – yet fascinating. And DON’T WORRY. My skin is not falling off, that white stuff is Calamine.

After looking up one bazillion photos on the internet and talking to a nurse, I’m pretty sure I was not bitten by a Brown Recluse. I might notice if my skin was dying. But maybe it was a Blister Beetle? In any case, things do not bode well for my upcoming wilderness adventure in the Boundary Waters…

-Emily

PS: They got bigger!!!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. annajing / Aug 23 2010 1:44 am

    holy crap those are scary looking bites! they don’t look real.

    • ebretzel / Aug 23 2010 9:44 am

      I know! By the end of the night on Friday they started to morph together into one big blister… totally weird!!

  2. Spider Man / Mar 23 2012 1:23 pm

    pop the blister into a cup but keep the fluid from getting on your skin this is a Infected Chigger spider Bite take a warm soapy bath and use lots of disinfecting alcohol on it once the blister is gone start to use antibiotics the itch well take time to get rid of.

  3. Spider Man / Mar 23 2012 1:26 pm

    these spiders resemble a small red beetle or a large tick but they are a red spider and are somewhat dangerous be more careful

    • ebretzel / Mar 23 2012 1:41 pm

      Yuck!! Believe me, if I had any idea that those things were crawling all over my ankles I would have booked it outta there. Thankfully I survived the bite, but thanks for identifying it! My doctor had no idea what it was and just gave me a bandaid to put over the blisters and a stronger hydrocortisone cream.

  4. ryanhicks08 / Jul 17 2012 2:37 pm

    Those blisters arent dangerous ive had them they are caused by a misquito just press them both down at the same time and they pop and thats the end of them

  5. aada / Oct 29 2012 10:01 pm

    ok i have this exact thing going what the hell is causing it

Leave a Reply

