Skip to content
September 19, 2010 / ebretzel

Isn’t That Ducky?

Last week, after a flurry of a visit from Ms. Van Amber, I found myself with a baby shower to host. How did that sneak up on me? With only several days left to come up with an idea for a cute, knitted creation, I decided to continue with the latest bird craze and whip up Ducky here. Using some yarn from the BoX Of MyStErY I modified my baby bluebird slightly and I was really pleased with the results. I considered adding a duck tail and webbed feet, but why ruin a cute thing? He knitted up pleasantly fast and I was done in one evening.

I would say my first bgirl baby shower party (or “sharty”) was a great success. Leah helped my create an awesome “BABY SURPRISE” banner, since we don’t know the gender of the baby. The idea came from a toy that I remembered from my childhood called “Kitty Surprise” which was a stuffed cat with a velcro stomach. Inside the stomach was the “surprise” of  3, 4 or 5 baby kitties. I found this nice vid of the sister product “Puppy Surprise.” While this was an effective marketing idea for little girls, I doubt my friend would be very happy to be surprised with 3, 4, or 5 babies…

We kept things pretty low-key but I did force my guests to participate in a few baby shower games including a blind taste test of disgusting baby foods like “Beef” and “Sweet Potatoes with Turkey.” Then, after enjoying a gigantic buffet complete with beautiful dairy-free cupcakes that Briana and I decorated, everyone stuck around to watch the Packers/Eagles game which was was jam-packed with hyper-extended knees and concussions. The slo-mo replays were gruesome! Watch one here and another here. Yikes!

-Emily

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marisa / Mar 6 2014 6:02 pm

    this little duck is so adorable! i want to knit tho little guy up right now! i just joined a sorority and our animal is a little yellow duck like that! would you mind sharing the pattern?

    • ebretzel / Mar 6 2014 6:09 pm

      I would love to, but I actually didn’t use a pattern! If you know how to make a sphere, that’s a good place to start, as the head and body are basically 2 spheres. You can find tutorials online. Sorry, I didn’t take the time to record how I stitched the beak and wings, I basically made it up as I went along!

Leave a Reply

