Skip to content
October 9, 2010 / ebretzel

Holy Giant Pumpkin Batman!

Giant Pumpkin Regatta

Have you ever seen a giant pumpkin regatta? Me neither! That is, until today at the Stillwater Harvestfest. Believe it or not, there are people who grow giant pumpkins, carve a hole in them and then paddle them down the St. Croix river in hopes of winning the most ridiculous race that man has invented yet. I guess what else are you going to do with it? Personally, I am amazed that these things float.

The regatta was pretty exciting, there were only 4 people racing and they didn’t have any wacky outfits or anything. One poor guy just kept going in circles. We also saw a tiny dog; it was cute.

Besides the 4 racing pumpkins, there were tons (literally) of other giant pumpkins on display. One of them even set the world record! :-o! It weighed in at 1,810 lbs! Just imagine the glorious bounty of roasted seeds you could harvest or the boatload of pumpkin pies you could bake if you had one of those suckers.

The ‘rithmatic part of my brain is rarely used but I think I figured it out. Your average pumpkin pie recipe uses one can (15 oz) of pumpkin. For the sake of simplicity, let’s just round that up to 1lb and pretend like canned pumpkin is the same as fresh pumpkin. That means you could make 1,810 pies out of the biggest giant pumpkin in the world!! 1,810 PIES! Can you imagine?

Unfortunately, I did not get to eat any pies today. I did, however, make the most amazing find. On our way to see the giant pumpkins we stopped at a garage sale and I snagged an unopened “Clue VCR Mystery Game” from 1985 for only 50¢. I looked it up on Amazon and you can buy the game for about $15-25, so I think I did pretty good!

If it had been worth, like, $100 I might have thought about selling it, but really I just wanted to play it. Luckily, my parents still have a VCR and my sister Katie and her friend Lauren humored me. We played the intro round and even got to rewind the tape a few times. Remember when instant gratification didn’t exist and you used to have to wait for things to rewind? Nostalgia!!

-Emily

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tom D. / Oct 10 2010 9:58 pm

    You got a pick of Eric Perkins from KARE 11! How do I know this you ask? Because a) he looks a lot like Eric Perkins in the picture and b) my parents took my niece and nephew to witness the same pumpkin race and they were so excited to get their picture taken with thee same Mr. Perkins.

    • ebretzel / Oct 11 2010 10:16 am

      ERIC PERKINS NO WAY! Does that make me the paparazzi?

Leave a Reply

