Skip to content
December 14, 2010 / ebretzel

And this is why they call it MinneSnowta

December Blizzard. Snowmageddon. Snownami. These are just a few terms that people have coined to describe what happened out here this weekend. The amount of snowfall rivaled that of the infamous ’91 Halloween blizzard, which I happily remember as a snowsuit bundled kid, wading through the snow to gather a bagful of candy from the neighbors.

The news of this weekend’s blizzard gave me mixed feelings. On the one hand, I was excited about the idea of sitting inside all warm and cozy, pretending to be in a snow globe and having every excuse not to leave the house. On the other hand, I was scheduled to work at Santaland in Minneapolis, and we all know that Santa cannot afford to take a day off this close to Christmas, blizzard or not. They haven’t closed Santaland in 25 years, so it was unlikely that a mere 20 inches of snow in a 24 hour period would stop them on Saturday.

I anxiously waited for an appropriate time to call and ask if they rrrrrreally needed me to drive the 20 miles through whiteout conditions to fulfill my duty as an elf. I held onto the phone nervously as the manager “checked” and then hung up joyously when she told me I was off the hook. I proceeded to do a victory dance around the house and got straight to work making cookies and watching Christmas movies. At that moment I felt as giddy as a kid who has a snow day from school.

The events that happened this weekend inspired me to make a list.

You know it’s a blizzard in Minnesota when…

… your shovel breaks while you’re trying to dig yourself out of the driveway.

… your snowblower breaks after your shovel breaks while you’re trying to dig yourself out of the driveway.

… you look down the street to see every single one of your neighbors out at once with their snowblowers.

… your street doesn’t get plowed until 8pm a day later. Or 2 days later. Or 3 days…

… the Metrodome roof collapses from the weight of snow!

… the baking aisle at the grocery completely empties out as people prepare to stay home and bake cookies during the blizzard.

… the Holidazzle parade gets canceled. (first time canceled due to snow in 19 years)

… you have 7 foot high (or higher) piles of snow at the end of your driveway!

I also wanted to add that this weekend my family was discussing the upcoming Christmas lutefisk party. No joke! Luckily, Ryan and I will be in Wisconsin.

-Emily

PS. Hank is now 30. End of message.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hank / Dec 14 2010 1:12 pm

    mother nature is a jerk

  2. Becca / Dec 27 2010 1:25 am

    I’m totally gutted I missed it. Although, we did have that giant earthquake back in Aug. Sadly, I was in MN at the time!

    Hehe I’m sorry to hear your snowblower broke (that does suck) but I’m rather amused. I guess I can be since I don’t have to deal with all the snow.

Leave a Reply

