Skip to content
February 20, 2011 / ebretzel

Plate Date

Last weekend Briana and I decided to try our hand at “painting” plates. I got the idea from this blog, which highlighted all sorts of amazing doodles on plates. I thought, how cool would that be! So we took a trip to goodwill and picked out some used plates (and a few other goodies) to experiment on.

We figured that we could just stop in at a craft store to pick up some porcelain pens, but the employees had NO idea what I was talking about. “uh, what do you want the pens for?” and then they would radio someone: “This lady here says she wants some kind of pens that will write on plates.” Then they would inform me that they had no such item.

So, we ended up buying Sharpie paint pens. They write on plates just fine, but are not permanent and you can’t really use the plates. Still, it was a fun activity. Here are the final results:

My plate was inspired by a Scandinavian bird design by Jane Foster that I found through a google image search. She has a lot of amazing screenprints and fabric designs that you can peruse on her site. I hope she doesn’t mind that I hijacked her design for my plate and turned it into hypercolor for this project. They only had crazy colors in the Sharpie pens. Anyway, I think it will look interesting hanging on my wall. Can anyone guess what Briana’s plate was inspired by?

Next time I’m going to order some real porcelain pens online first.

-Emily

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bonnie / Feb 21 2011 10:36 am

    these are beautiful!! so lovely, and i’m so impressed! i had to order mine from dickblick.com, but it looks like yours turned out wonderul using the sharpies!

    • ebretzel / Feb 21 2011 11:13 am

      Thank you Bonnie, and thanks for the inspiring post! I will definitely be more prepared next time and gather the necessary materials ahead of time. :-)

  2. Becca / Feb 22 2011 10:36 pm

    Yes! I have a friend that made some beautiful glasses using ceramic pens (which were cool because they were not opaque)! Okay not exactly like this but you kind of get the idea http://www.rydelldesign.com/

    My flatmate thought they were way cool and wanted to make some, but has not been able to find the exact paint.

    Hey, remember that weird stuff we used to make window clings out of back in Bailey? It kind of looked like that, clear and a bit 3d.

  3. Becca / Feb 22 2011 10:36 pm

    p.s. the plates are BEAUTIFUL and I wish I could have been there crafting with you guys. : D I think making up some cool jars or wine glasses would be lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

